The Hunt Institute Hosts Virginia House Education and Senate Education and Health Committees in Norfolk

December 2, 2021

The Hunt Institute’s annual Virginia Education Summit covers pressing education matters. 

Norfolk, VA – The Hunt Institute will host the Virginia House Education and Senate Education and Health Committees for its annual Virginia Education Summit December 2 – 3, 2021. The two-day event at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, gives policymakers an opportunity to share data and discuss best practices around education.

Delegate Roslyn Tyler and Senator Louise Lucas (also a Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellow) serve as Retreat co-chairs. First Lady Pamela Northam and former Virginia Secretaries of Education Laura Fornash, Gerard Robinson, and Anne Holton will be in attendance. Senator Tim Kaine will also provide virtual remarks to give context on how Virginia has prioritized education through federal relief funding.

“The Commonwealth is now in its seventh year of partnership with The Hunt Institute,” said Senator Lucas. “In the past couple of years, the inequities that exist across Virginia’s education system have become more apparent than ever. During this event, resource experts give us the facts – they tell it like it is – and in doing so, we’re better equipped to work toward sound, equity-driven changes for students.”

Throughout the Retreat, resource experts will talk about early childhood education, the teacher workforce, learning acceleration, strategies for supporting students, assessments and accountability, special education, and postsecondary funding and attainment. Resource experts include:

  • The Honorable David Bulova, District 37, Virginia House of Delegates
  • The Honorable Glenn Davis, District 84, Virginia House of Delegates
  • The Honorable Joe Flores, Secretary of Finance, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable Megan Healy, Secretary of Labor, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable Tim Kaine, Member, Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee, United States Senate, Virginia (2013 – Present), Former Governor of Virginia (2006 – 2010)
  • The Honorable James Lane, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore, District 18, Senate of Virginia
  • The Honorable Jennifer McClellan, District 9, Senate of Virginia
  • The Honorable Pamela Northam, First Lady, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable David Suetterlein, District 19, Senate of Virginia
  • The Honorable Roslyn Tyler, District 78, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Dr. Makola Abdullah, President, Virginia State University
  • Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston, President, Norfolk State University
  • Dr. Sheila Bailey, Executive Director, Virginia Council of Administrators of Special Education
  • Britney Blackman, Master Teacher, The New E3 School
  • Peter Blake, Director, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
  • Dr. Tequilla Brownie, Incoming CEO, TNTP
  • Holly Coy, Assistant Superintendent for Policy, Equity, and Communications, Virginia Department of Education
  • Dr. Marcia Conston, President, Tidewater Community College
  • Jenna Conway, Deputy Superintendent, Virginia Department of Education
  • Dr. Jared Cotton, District Superintendent, Chesapeake Public Schools
  • Dr. Wil Del Pilar, Vice President of Higher Education Policy and Practice, The Education Trust
  • Dr. Tammi Dice, Interim Dean, Darden College of Education & Professional Studies
  • Dr. Davis Dixon, Assistant Professor, Hampton University
  • Naomi Dunbar, Principal, Indian River High School, Chesapeake Public Schools
  • Laura Fornash, Senior Vice President, McGuireWoods Consulting, Former Virginia Secretary of Education (2011 – 2013)
  • Dr. John B. Gordon, III, District Superintendent, Suffolk City Public Schools
  • Hal E. Greer, Director, Joint Legislative Audit & Review Commission
  • Anne Holton, Former Virginia Secretary of Education (2014 – 2016), Professor, College of Education and Human Development, George Mason University
  • Lisa Howard, President & CEO, E3: Elevate Early Education
  • Denise Huebner, Associate Superintendent for Special Education and Student Services, Prince William County Public Schools
  • Dr. Gregory Hutchings, District Superintendent, Alexandria City Public Schools
  • Rhonda Jeck, Principal, Bristow Run Elementary School, Prince William County Public Schools
  • Dr. Karen Leslie, Principal, Patrick Henry High School, Roanoke City Public Schools
  • Dr. Will Lorie, Senior Associate, The Center for Assessment
  • W. Brian McCann, President and CEO, The Faison Center for Autism
  • Dr. Emily Morton, Research Scientist, Northwest Evaluation Association
  • Donna Payne, Principal, Ruckersville Elementary School, Greene County School
  • Gerard Robinson, Vice President for Education, Advanced Studies in Culture Foundation, Former Virginia Secretary of Education (2010 – 2011)
  • Rodney Robinson, Senior Advisor, Richmond Public Schools
  • Sarah Sandelius, Founder, The Ability Challenge
  • Dr. Tamika Singletary-Johnson, Principal, Salem Middle School, Virginia Beach County Public Schools
  • Dr. Aaron Spence, District Superintendent, Virginia Beach City Public Schools
  • Verletta White, District Superintendent, Roanoke City Public Schools
  • Dr. Andrea Whitmarsh, District Superintendent, Greene County Schools

This year, Virginia Education Summit participants will also have the chance to tour The New E3 School Norfolk and attend a reception at ODU’s Baron and Ellin Gordon Art Galleries, which currently features 13 original works by Jean-Michel Basquiat.

“Virginia is the first state The Hunt Institute went to when we began expanding our State Legislators Retreat model,” said Dr. Javaid Siddiqi, president & CEO of The Hunt Institute. “This year, I’m most excited for policymakers to tour a state-of-the-art early childhood education center that shows they value equity through their mixed-income model. Equity must be present at every stage of a students’ education journey.”


Share This